The Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61 is currently seeking a qualified individual to assist the Director of Public Works in the overall operation of its Public Works Department.  The ideal candidate will be very organized, multi disciplined and task oriented with strong human resource skills.  A minimum of two to three years of supervisory experience would be preferred.  Experience in equipment operation and maintenance is an asset.  Those applying should have experience and/or training in road maintenance and construction as this position will be tasked with directing road maintenance including grading, gravelling and snow removal.


The Deputy Director of Public Works is a full-time permanent position that is responsible in assisting the Director of Public Works in the planning, organizing and directing of all Public Works functions which includes all municipal roads, bridges, buildings, equipment, water treatment and personnel contingent of approximately 60 full-time and seasonal staff.


This competition will remain open until a suitable candidate is found.


Interested candidates are invited to forward a cover letter and resume to:

M.D. of Wainwright No. 61

Deputy Director of Public Works Competition

717- 14th Avenue Wainwright, AB  T9W 1B3


We appreciate the interest of all applicants, however, only those selected for an interview will be contacted.

About Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61

The M.D. of Wainwright is situated in the heart of the agriculture and oil industries and is a major partner with one of Canada’s largest military training bases. This makes the M.D. of Wainwright an area of diverse wealth both socially and economically and allows us to provide our residents with many services and the benefit of low taxes. In addition, the M.D. of Wainwright offers various historical and recreational attractions for residents and visitors. The M.D. of Wainwright is a progressive community that is a great place to live, work and raise a family. Within the M.D. of Wainwright, there is the Town of Wainwright, Denwood, the Villages of Irma, Chauvin and Edgerton and the hamlets of Fabyan, Greenshields, and Jarrow.